Hirtshals, 4/4 – 2014

As my shoulder still makes it impossible to flyfish I came up with a way to go fishing and get some nice fish to eat. I teamed up with Søren on a sea fishing trip from Hirtshals. In this way I could fish, get some fish in the freezer and be gentle on my shoulder ( I thought).

The wind was quite strong but from SE so not that big waves and after a couple of hours sailing we started to fish and we almost immediately hooked fish. It was cods in the 3-4 Pounds range and there were plenty.

2014-04-05 10.41.11

This is my basket not even halfway through. We ended up catching 70 -80 cods each and this despite that we took long breaks. Despite we also released app. 25 fish each we had so many fish that my shoulder now really Hurts from all the work gutting and cutting filets. So for the next months we will not have any shortage of fish in the freezer and cod filet is a good starting point for many nice dishes.

Leave a Reply

