Frederica 25-26/8 2013

A weekend dry fly fishing for carp near Fredericia with Simon. We should fish in a big mill pond with many carps and as the carps were not that big we fished witn #4 equipment and dry flies. As I had never caught a carp on a fly I looked forward to this weekend and as the weather cooperated nothing could go wrong – I thought.

Simon was ready when I arrived and we started to fish immidiately as the carps were showing. According to Simon they are normally not that difficult to catch but after I had presented the fly to a LOT of carps without any reaction I realized that this was about being persistent and keep fishing until a carp grabbed the fly for unknown reasons – a bit like mullet fly fishing.

2013-08-23 18.56.42

Simon – later named the Carp King – hooked a fish the first evening

 

2013-08-23 18.58.02

and here it is – a nice 3 lb. carp

 

2013-08-23 18.58.27

Here presented by the King.

Simon got two carps the first evening while I was not even close despite I used some of Simons flies. The next day Simon got two more and once I had a carp that kissed the fly but that was as close as I got.

 

2013-08-25 10.29.36 (3)

Sunday morning Simen got another two carps and then I hooked this one. It was hooked between the eyes so it was not a proper take but I got a taste of what we were there for. I ended actually with one carp that took my dry fly but I broke the leader so I lost it due to my own fault and that is not easy to swallow.

We had a very nice but also frustrating weekend and I hope to come back another time but I also hope that the carps will be a bit easier next time.